I’ve always had quite long hair but not because I’ve got some odd attachment to it like those girls on America’s Next Top Model – it’s more because my hair is really thick and naturally curly, so it’s a bit of a bugger to style if I’m short on time. While it’s long, then I have the option to tie it back into a pony tail in 5 minutes flat, and I can also get it tied out the way of my ridiculously sweaty neck when playing Roller Derby and when I go running. See Specimen A:

Long hair (February 2012)
Long hair (February 2012)

For the very reason that I’ve always had long-ish hair and tend to straighten it, I now want to get it cut real short and work with my natural curls. My skating buddy Linzi Grant (Chop’Her) of LMG Hair & Beauty lopped a fair few inches off my locks back in March. Once I’m used to the new length, then she’ll chop off the rest.

Shorter hair (March 2012)
Shorter hair (March 2012)

I’m not long back from Tenerife and the sunshine has lightened my hair – in patches! Excellent, just the look I was going for. I love my natural hair colour but given it’s tendency to change shade, I often put a red colour-booster through it to even out the colour. Cult Friction from DRG recommended using henna hair-colouring from Lush, and after advice from the sales assistant, I’m going to mix the Caca Marron with Caca Brun to give a rich red tone. So all going to plan, the new colour teamed with the shorter, curly/ wavy locks should give me a style similar to Scarlett Johansson’s Black Widow in Avengers Assemble. I wonder if the body comes as part of the look?

My ideal short, wavy, red hair style
My ideal short, wavy, red hair style

Update: I only went and bloomin’ did it! In October, I took the plunge and got my locks chopped right off. I veered away from Scarlett and more towards Emma Watson, and I love it!

Shortest hair - October 2012
Shortest hair – October 2012
