Tags

, , , , , ,

So in my last post I was debating over whether I should get new skates or not. Typically, the skates that I was looking at were coming in at around £500! Yeah, no thanks. I decided to splash my cash on new wheels and bearings instead, and some new laces to ease the tingly toes.

I’ve had my eye on Atom wheels for a while but didn’t really have a clue which to go for. There is so much choice! After chatting with my teammate Laura, I plumped for the slim Juke with a 88A and 93A combination of hardness. Our Reff Goldbloom offered some stellar advice when choosing new bearings and products to get the best from them. Based on this, I got Bones Reds skate bearings and Speed Cream to keep them nice and slick. I ordered all of this equipment from Billy’s online and will definitely visit their site for my next purchases. Their prices are competitive and the team are very helpful, even when divs like me forget how many bearings are needed to upgrade all 8 wheels (that’s 16, not 8…)

I got my new toys delivered to work, so after a bit of messing around on my lunch break trying to pop the bearings into the wheels, I was more than happy with my purchase when trying them out at training for the first time. I do believe, “They’re soooo smooth” was the phrase I used when asked how I found my new set up!

Atom Juke 88A

Atom Juke 88A

Atom Juke 93A

Atom Juke 93A

As for the laces, I was keen to try our Dr Carnage’s suggestion of double-lacing my skates for extra tightness around the ankles but looser on the toes. Skatee Frakoff (also from DRG) recommended Mr Lacy ‘Smallies’ for this technique. And when I saw they came in our team colours – purple and turqoise – I couldn’t resist!

Mr Lacy laces

Mr Lacy laces

That’s me a couple of weeks into my new set up now and am convinced I made the right upgrade choices. Although I loved my Fugitive wheels, I just felt it was time to move on to something a bit more robust/ smooth/ green. The equipment does not maketh the skater, but it can certainly help you unlock more of your own potential!

