As I don’t gave any grass in my garden, I started off by growing coriander and basil in ready-made pots on my windowsill. The basil was flourishing, until I went on holiday and he died off; the coriander constantly looked half-dead and I only managed to use a few fresh leaves in a curry before giving up and tossing him out too. It was time to get creative!

My back garden already had a wee rockery built into one of the corners on top of the concrete, using breeze blocks and compost. When it was nice and sunny a couple of weeks ago, me and my mum expanded the current rock garden and planted some pansies in it, then built another one in the opposite corner so I can start my herb garden! Dad swapped some rubbish at the local recycling centre for compost (bargain!) so all I need to do now is decide what seeds to plant and get them in.

Herb garden in progress
Herb garden in progress

Edit (6th October 2012: Shortly after creating this post in June, I planted coriander, basil, mint and parsley in the herb garden and have cooked with them all! My favourite was a thai chilli prawn dish with fresh basil and peanuts. Not sure if I need to uproot the plants for winter – will find out.

Fairy garden in opposite corner
Fairy garden in opposite corner
Hanging baskets to add more colour!
Hanging baskets to add more colour!
